Outstanding Gerontologist Award

Dutch Kastenbaum Outstanding Gerontologist Award
The Minnesota Gerontological Society established the Outstanding Gerontologist Award in 1984 to recognize individuals who have contributed to lives of older persons throughout Minnesota. Contributions can be made to the field of aging through practice, research, or academics. In 1998 the award was renamed the Dutch Kastenbaum Award to honor Abraham “Dutch” Kastenbaum.  Kastenbaum was trained as a social worker, and was a champion in beginning service programs for older people. He later became a celebrity with his weekly television show, Senior Citizen’s Forum, which ran for almost 25 years. To honor his memory, the Minnesota Gerontological Society receives nominations each year to recognize outstanding gerontologists.

2018 Gerontologist of the Year:

Patti Cullen, President/CEO, Care Providers of Minnesota

Patti Cullen has worked at Care Providers of Minnesota since 1986 in a variety of positions over the years as chief lobbyist, Vice President, and as President/CEO since 2007. Ms. Cullen has been a certified association executive since 2006. Her educational background includes a master’s degree in mass communication and political science and undergraduate degrees in recreation therapy and psychology. Prior to joining Care Providers of Minnesota, Ms. Cullen worked as a provider of long-term care services in a variety of positions, beginning this path as a home health aide while in college. During the course of her career, Ms. Cullen has received recognition as a top lobbyist by Minnesota Law and Politics and as a Leader in Minnesota Health Care by the Women’s Health Leadership Trust.

Ms. Cullen has served on numerous state task forces relating to long term care financing reform, bridging the health care continuum, integration of care, dementia care and alternative payment systems. Ms. Cullen has also been a frequent guest lecturer at state and national seminars/conventions as well as several university classes focusing on quality in older adult services, coordination of care and workforce.

Past Award Winners

  • 2017 Helen Kivnick
  • 2016 Olivia Mastry
  • 2015: Jean K. Wood and Jim Tift
  • 2014: Elaine Carlson
  • 2013: Dawn Simonson
  • 2012: Edward Ratner
  • 2011: Phyllis Greenberg
  • 2010: Hal Freshley
  • 2009: Gayle Kvenvold
  • 2008: Janet Hively
  • 2007: Maddy Forsberg
  • 2006: Jeanette Metz
  • 2005: Marion Goepner
  • 2004: Maria R. Gomez
  • 2003: Robert and Rosalie Kane
  • 2002: John Selstad
  • 2001: Warren Wolfe
  • 2000: Larhae Knatterud
  • 1999: Pamela Parker
  • 1998: Ken Hepburn
  • 1997: Janet Woodhull and Iris Freeman
  • 1996: Gerald Bloedow
  • 1995: Abraham Kastenbaum
  • 1994: Muriel Ryden
  • 1993: Donna Walberg and Steven Miles
  • 1992: Donald McTavish and David Knopmaan
  • 1991: Doug Hanneman
  • 1990: Nancy N. Eustis
  • 1989: Elva Walker
  • 1988: Raye Kreevoy and Cynthia Polich
  • 1985: Grace Warfield and Norm Bourestom
  • 1984: Etta Saloshin