The mission of the Minnesota Gerontological Society (MGS) is to bridge research and practice in the field of aging, with emphasis on developing and supporting tomorrow’s leaders. To meet this mission, MGS has created scholarship funds and annually awards financial assistance to undergraduate and graduate students studying in a field related to gerontology or geriatric health in Minnesota. 100% of donations to these funds support scholarships.

Student Scholarship Application Process

MGS awards six $1K scholarships each year at it’s annual conference. Applications will be posted on this page and sent to gerontology professors to forward to their students. The application process will open in the Fall. Current Minnesota higher education students can apply for a scholarship.

MGS 2019-20 Scholarship Application – will be activated in the Fall. The awards will be presented on April 12, 2019 at the 43rd Annual Conference.

How to Donate to an MGS Scholarship Fund

MGS sponsors three separate scholarship funds which are listed below. Donors can select a fund and click the donation link to make a contribution.

Robert L. and Rosalie A. Kane Scholarship Fund

The Minnesota Gerontological Society created this scholarship fund in March 2017 after learning about Bob Kane’s death on March 6. Bob and Rosalie have taught, mentored, and authored research that has impacted practitioners, faculty and students working in gerontology and geriatrics for decades. In honor of their collective work, and as a memorial to Bob’s life of professional and academic service, MGS created the Robert L. and Rosalie A. Kane Scholarship Fund. The first Kane scholarship will be awarded in 2018.

Robert L. Kane, MD, was the Minnesota Chair of Aging and Long-Term Care at the University of Minnesota’s School of Public Health where he was a professor for more than thirty years. He was a distinguished researcher, prolific author, and dedicated advocate for better management of chronic illnesses and improved delivery of long-term care. Rosalie A. Kane, Ph.D., is a professor in the Division of Health Services Research and Policy, School of Public Health, University of Minnesota. She also teaches in the School of Social Work and the Center for Biomedical Ethics at UMN, and is a Director with the UMN National Long-Term Care Resource Center.

Donate to the Robert L. and Rosalie A. Kane Scholarship Fund

To help raise funds, download and share this Kane Scholarship Donation Invitation with your networks.

Elva Walker Spillane Scholarship

MGS created this scholarship fund in 2014 to memorialize the life and work of Elva Walker Spillane. Elva dedicated her life to service and advocacy in the field of aging services. She was a founding member and former President of MGS, founding member and served eight years on the Minnesota Board on Aging, volunteered her leadership on the Boards of the National Council on Aging and AARP, and tirelessly supported many more local, state and national organizations.

Donate to the Elva Walker Scholarship Fund

Gerald Bloedow Scholarship

In 1994, MGS established the Bloedow Scholarship fund to honor the lifelong contributions of Gerald Bloedow to the field of aging and to provide financial assistance to undergraduate and graduate students to further their education in gerontology.

Gerald Bloedow was Director of the Minnesota Board on Aging from 1966 until 1994. Prior to this he directed many community organization projects for the Governor’s Citizen Council on Aging. Gerald was a founding member of MGS in 1976. The fund was established by Elva Walker Spillane and Ann Wood to honor the lifelong contributions of Gerald Bloedow to the field of aging and to provide assistance to students in this field.

Donate to the Gerald Bloedow Scholarship Fund

Past Robert & Rosalie Kane Scholarship Recipients (began in 2018)

  • 2018: Kristi Oeding, PhD, Speech/Language/Hearing Sciences, University of Minnesota

Past Elva Walker Spillane Scholarship Recipients

  • 2018: Lisa Moen, PsyD, St. Mary’s University
    Alissa Pool, DNP, University of Minnesota
  • 2017: Amanda Clemens, MS Gerontology student, St. Cloud State University
    Ruth Rath-Nesvacil, PhD, University of Minnesota
  • 2016: Beau Cummings, J.D. in law at MN State University Moorhead
    Rachel Potter, BS in Social Work at Winona State University
  • 2015: Mary Whipple, UMN Doctoral Candidate, School of Nursing

Past Gerald Bloedow Scholarship Recipients

  • 2018: Kassara Kneeland, MSW, St. Catherine/St. Thomas University
    Samantha Peterson, BSW, Winona State University
  • 2017: Leah Oien, BA Gerontology student, MN State University Moorhead
    Brianna Lauer, PhD Physical Therapy student, Univeristy of Minnesota
  • 2016: Jessica Finlay, PhD in geography with minor in gerontology at U of M
    Ana Westervelt, M.A. in Public Health at U of M
  • 2015: Wendy Hazuki Martin, UMN Bachelor’s nursing student;
    Reenu Bajracharya, St. Cloud State Master’s gerontology student;
    Elizabeth Dembski, Winona State Master’s social work student
  • 2014: Katherine Johanson, Marissa Parkman, and  Rebecca Davis
  • 2013: Emily Matthews and Supriya Sarkar
  • 2012: Erin Morcomb and Joseph Halvorson
  • 2011: Azizah Jordan and Moira Olson
  • 2010: Tracy Kiebler and Meaghan Mohr Gesino
  • 2009: Rusudan Kilaberia, Sonia Pond and Gretchen Van der Linden
  • 2008: Carolyn Bothwell, Charissa Eaton and Julie Torelli
  • 2007: Kathleen Beddo, Katie Griep and Sara Lassig
  • 2006: Kristina Patel and Pam Zimmerman
  • 2005: Rajean Moone and Elizabeth Palo
  • 2004: Corjena Cheung and Harriet Mednick
  • 2003: Kathy Siegling